The state Department reported on the implementation of the “Magnitsky Act”

The state Department reported on the implementation of the “Magnitsky Act”


Госдепартамент отчитался о выполнении «Закона Магнитского»

In the sanctions list includes 49 citizens of the Russian Federation

The US Department of state transmitted to Congress its annual report on the actions of the administration on the implementation of the Magnitsky Act. A law that imposes financial and travel restrictions on persons responsible for gross violations of human rights and the rule of law, was adopted in December 2012.

Initially the law provided for the introduction of restrictive measures against Russian officials and individuals involved in the death of the auditor of Fund Hermitage Capital of Sergey Magnitsky, who discovered a large fraudulent scheme to withdraw from Russia funds in the amount of $ 230 million. Subsequently, the enforcement of the law was enlarged, and a list of actions that fall under the sanctions, were also included gross human rights violations, extrajudicial killings, murder and torture, and prosecution of persons who allege violations of the law of the Russian officials.

According to the report of the state Department, currently in the “Magnitsky List” includes 49 names of Russian officials and Russian citizens. Wednesday afternoon, the Office for foreign assets control of the U.S. Treasury Department has made this list the names of four citizens of the Russian Federation, including the leader of Chechnya, Ramzan Kadyrov.